Political Setup

Sh. Naveen Jindal


Before the formation of Haryana in 1966, three general elections to the Lok Sabha were held in 1952, 1957 and 1962. In the general elections of 1952, the areas now comprising Kurukshetra district formed part of Karnal Parliamentary constituency. During the second general elections, it formed part of Ambala and Kaithal constituencies in the elections to the Lok Sabha held in 1962, 1967 and 1971. After the formation of Kurukshetra as a separate district in 1973 and fresh delimitation of constituencies in 1976, this area now forms major part of Kurukshetra Parliamentary Constituency. With the formation of Kaithal and Yamuna Nagar districts in November, 1989, Kurukshetra Parliamentary Constituency now extends to the districts of Kaithal and Yamuna Nagar also.